Living (and writing about) the Law of Attraction!

There’s so much ‘out there’ about the Law of Attraction. So many self-proclaimed experts. And much good can be gleaned from the literally millions of sites on the topic. So what have I got to say that’s any different…or better. Well, I’ll let you be the judge of that.

Law of Attraction experts will tell you that you have to know what you want and focus on it, or visualize it. You need to stop thinking about the lack of it and find a way to feel good even in the ‘not yet’ ness of it. Of course affirmations are recommended, and gratitude (or appreciation) is touted as the ‘key’ to making it all work.

I don’t disagree with these approaches. I’ve tried them all and more, but I’ve found it’s so easy to get caught up in the doing of these techniques and processes and when we do them to achieve a result, we shoot ourselves in the foot.

So then we hear things like, “It’s not the destination, it’s the journey that counts.” or “Live in the moment/seize the day.” or “Success is all about the joy, not about the accomplishments.” This leads us to conclude that we should let go of all our material desires and be more spiritual.

But isn’t there a balance? Can’t we have both?

When I first heard about the Law of Attraction, I was suffering from depression. My first desire was for joy (or at least hope at that point) and I am happy to report that joy has manifested in my life beyond my wildest dreams.

But I had and continue to have plenty of materialistic desires as well. Who doesn’t want a comfortable lifestyle, a sufficient bank account, a certain car or house? Who doesn’t have career aspirations or dreams of success? These things are as good and as natural as the desire for joy, or for health or for satisfying relationships.

So why do so many people get stuck here?

  1. It could be a worthiness thing. I know I had to do a lot of work in that area.
  2. It could be we can justify wanting some things but not others. We need to examine our belief systems and see why we judge certain things as selfish, wrong or unnecessary.
  3. It could be we’re trying too hard, wanting something so bad that we equate the having of it with our very happiness—that’s a biggie.
  4. It could be we’re not taking the ‘when’ and ‘how’ out of the equation. Remember, it will happen and it is possible to enjoy the unfolding.

All these are practical tips you can use to help in your manifesting. But one thing that has helped me more than any other is taking small steps, making small but deliberate shifts in my thinking. It’s sounds boring, but it really works. The bottom line is: if anything is going to change in our lives it has to start with our thoughts, our belief systems. Quantum leaps don’t work and you end up disillusioned if you try. And changing those deeply ingrained patterns of thinking can be tricky. You can have it all, but you can’t get there all at once (Why would you even want to for goodness sakes??)

So here are some practical but powerful ‘small’ shifts you can make. These are ways to trick your mind and thereby change your belief system.

Physical Health:

Take an affirmation like, “I never get sick.” (some advise to always keep your affirmations in the affirmative, but this works for me). At first my reasoning mind wanted to argue with this statement and point out that I had a cold last month and that I had that nasty flue last year, etc. But this is how I tricked my mind: I told myself that ‘sick’ is a relative term. And on a scale of 1-100 (100% = dead), the sore throat I’m experiencing right now is really only about a ‘2.’ So therefore, I’m not really sick at all. That, my mind can accept as truth. Do that a few times and you’ll have yourself convinced that you really never actually get sick—and you won’t. It’s funny how the mind works, but I’ve been saying that statement in that way for a couple of years now and I haven’t even had a sore throat, let alone a full blown cold, flue or infection.

Cancer can be a scary word, and Ladies, if any of the women in your family have or had breast cancer (or if you listen to statistics) then it can really mess with your belief in well-being. I do have cancer in my family ( and heart disease, glaucoma, high blood pressure, to name a few) but simply saying, “I won’t get cancer.” isn’t enough. I had to mess with my mind a bit. So I’ve convinced myself that I’m much too stubborn and independent to get a disease that everyone else seems to be getting (I never do what everybody else is doing. I’ve never been one to follow the crowd. I’m much too independent, a free thinker. I like to be unique) And presto! My mind can accept that. I have no fear whatsoever of the disease.

Financial Health:

I might say, “I have all the money I want.” I don’t know about you, but my mind won’t let that one pass without argument, so I change it to: “I have everything I need right now, in this moment.” That works.

Relationships:

Try saying, “I love my husband/wife/significant other.” after you’ve just had a big argument and you’re still steaming. I can say those words, but I don’t feel them. So I change it to: “I choose to be in love right now.” Love is a place, it’s a destination, it’s a vibration—and I can go there/be there anytime I want. The object of my love doesn’t matter. All I know is that I deserve to be in love—it’s where I want to be and how I want to feel. Practice being in the vibration of love and you can go there easily, anytime. I spend a few minutes there and I totally forget what it was we were even fighting about.

Success:

“I am successful in all that I do.” Easy to see how your mind could object to that statement. But try, “I am God’s (Spirit’s, Universe’s) living enterprise, and God does not fail!” Add to that, “It’s not my job to orchestrate things.” “Everything is unfolding in it’s perfect time.” “Joy is my measure of success and I’m doing extremely well.”

You get the idea. It’s those subtle shifts in out thinking that can take us far. Try this for yourself: Listen to an affirmation and ask yourself, “Do I really believe this?” If you feel resistance, try softening it or changing it to something your mind can accept as truth. If the new statement brings you a feeling of relief, congratulations, you’ve shifted your vibration.

Comments on: "There’s Big Power in Small Shifts" (1)

  1. paulettelm said:

    Jeane .You are awesome !! I love this so much I’m going to print it out for myself and use your suggestions on all these subjects as a reminder every day . Actually some of these I started doing a while back such as the Physical health one in staying youthful.Who says I have to grow old ? LOL. We can stay as young and healthy as we allow ourself to .No need to fall into a mold . I am unique after all 😉 A shift in my way of processing changes the vibration and it works because this is how I really feel about it .Thanks so much .You are a blessing for putting this into words so anyone can understand and therefore follow the steps
    Paulette :).

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

